History of Bucharest
Bucharest is the capital and largest city of Romania, as well as its cultural, industrial, and financial centre. It is located in the southeastern side of the country along the Dambovita stream, less than 60 km north of the Danube River and the Bulgarian border.
Bucharest was first mentioned in documents in 1459. It became the capital of Romania in 1862 and is the centre of Romanian media, culture, and art. Its architecture is a mix of historical (neo-classical), interbellum (Bauhaus and art deco), communist - era and modern. In the period between the two World Wars, the city's elegant architecture and the sophistication of its elite earned Bucharest the nickname of "Little Paris". Although buildings and districts in the historic city centre were heavily damaged or destroyed by war, earthquakes.
Bucharest has landmark buildings and monuments. Perhaps the most prominent of these is the Palace of the Parliament, built in the 1980's during the reign of communist dictator Nicolae Ceausescu. The largest Parliament building in the world, the palace houses the Romanian Parliament (the Chamber of Deputies, and the Senate), as well as the National Museum of Contemporary Art. The building boasts one of the largest convention centres in the world.
Another landmark in Bucharest is The Triumphal Arch, built in its current form in 1935 and modeled after the Arc de Triomphe in Paris. A newer landmark of the city is the Memorial of Rebirth, a stylized marble pillar unveiled in 2005 to commemorate the victims of the Romanian Revolution of 1989, which overthrew Communism. The Romanian Athenaeum building is considered to be a symbol of Romanian culture and since 2007 is on the list of the Label of European Heritage sites.
InterContinental Bucharest is a high-rise five-star hotel situated near University Square and is also a landmark of the city. The building is designed so that each room has a unique panorama of the city.
Other cultural venues include the National Museum of Art of Romania, Museum of Natural History Grigore Antipa, Museum of the Romanian Peasant, National History Museum, and the Military Museum.
A short history of Victoriei Road
Initially, the road was known as Ulita Mare (Large Street), also known as Drumul Brasovului (Brasov Road), being part of the trade route between Bucharest and the city of Brasov, in Transylvania In 1692, ruler Constantin Brâncoveanu paved the road with wood and partly regularized it, making it pass through the domains of the Balaceni, of the Saint John Monastery, Zlatari Monastery and of the Cantacuzenes up to the Sarindari Monastery. Since 1692 it was known as Podul Mogosoaiei (Mogosoaia Wood-Paved Road) because it also was connecting the Bucharest's center with Brâncoveanu's Mogosoaia Palace some km outside the city.
Most roads in the Balkans at that time became muddy in the spring and autumn, and the wood prevented this. Consequently, the road was one of the most important construction works of the area and a source of pride to Bucharesters. The area surrounding the road became the most fashionable part of Bucharest: 35 boyar houses were located on the road itself in 1775.
Podul Mogosoaiei was the first street in Bucharest to be illuminated with candles during the night, starting July 1814.
During the Russian occupation of the Danubian Principalities, in the aftermath of the Russian - Turkish War (1828-1829), an extension from Piata Victoriei northward was built by Pavel Kiseleff, the commander of the occupation troops, and is today named after him. In 1842 the road was paved with cobblestone. It was later upgraded to asphalt.
The road was renamed "Calea Victoriei" on October 12, 1878, following the Romanian victory in the Independence War of 1877-1878.
Today, the avenue is lined with new fashion shops, art boutiques, coffee shops and restaurants, making it an upmarket shopping strip in Bucharest.
Source : Wikipedia.org
Call now :